top of page
  • Writer's pictureJames King

This Historical Novel Series will keep you reading

The Clifton Chronicles historical novels series is one of those gripping sagas which upset me, because I had to wait for the next book after finishing each one. Jeffrey has an infuriating habit of satisfying you while leaving you desperate to know what happens next. Luckily you won’t have that problem, now all seven books are available.

The Clifton Chronicles

by Jeffrey Archer

Genre: Historical Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction – 7 Novels

20,000 Amazon customer reviews. Average rating - 4.4 Stars

Read more about the historical novels here at Amazon

From the internationally bestselling author of Kane and Abel and A Prisoner of Birth comes Only Time Will Tell, the first in an ambitious new series that tells the story of one family across generations, across oceans, from heartbreak to triumph.

The epic tale of Harry Clifton's life begins in 1920, with the words "I was told that my father was killed in the war." A dock worker in Bristol, Harry never knew his father, but he learns about life on the docks from his uncle, who expects Harry to join him at the shipyard once he's left school. But then an unexpected gift wins him a scholarship to an exclusive boys' school, and his life will never be the same again.

As he enters into adulthood, Harry finally learns how his father really died, but the awful truth only leads him to question, was he even his father? Is he the son of Arthur Clifton, a stevedore who spent his whole life on the docks, or the firstborn son of a scion of West Country society, whose family owns a shipping line?

James King says;

Don’t read the first book - Only Time Will Tell. If you do you will be hooked.

It’s only a friendly warning. I don’t want you to spend all your pocket money at once like I would have if they had all been published then.

The Clifton Chronicles historical novels series is listed and described by Pan MacMillan publishers here. It is a series of seven historical novels published between 2011-2017, which have consistently topped the bestseller lists around the world.

I have been an Archer fan since I read his first book, ‘Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less’, which he wrote in 1974 at the age of 34, hoping to avoid bankruptcy. He succeeded and went on to top the bestseller lists around the world with his novels and short stories. He is the only author to have been a number one bestseller in fiction (twenty times), short stories (four times) and non-fiction (The Prison Diaries). He was born in London and brought up in England’s West Country.

Archer has written 23 novels, 7 sets of short stories, 3 prison diaries, 3 plays (all of which have been performed in London's West End) and a gospel. His first novel, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less was sold to 17 countries within a year. It was also made into a successful serial for BBC Radio 4 and was later televised in 1990 by the BBC. Jeffrey won the Prix Relay du Roman d’Évasion, a prize that rewards a novel in which readers can ‘escape from everyday life’, for his novel Paths of Glory, and the Prix Polar International Prize for the best international thriller of the year, for his novel A Prisoner of Birth.

Apart from his novel released in November 2018, Heads You Win, I have read all Jeffrey Archer’s novels and most of his short stories. I can’t remember being disappointed by any.

Read more about the historical novels here at Amazon


bottom of page